“RBWTL”

Let me begin by stating that the last week and a half has been spent in a blur.  Whether this is the excuse that I will make for not “reading through the lines” in the book or not, I would be lying to say that I grasped even the subtle metaphor, let alone an overlying theme, when reading Where the Rivers Flow North. Perhaps I will attribute my inattentiveness to a general lack of curiosity.  These excuses do not matter.  What does matter is that when forced to pay attention to visual imagery, such as watching a movie in class, the fact that my brain might not be working properly suddenly is not so important.  By film it was much easier to see the story as a whole, therefore allowing the metaphor to stimulate my foggy head.  While reading, i could pick out themes of work, but these passages seemed to be only what they were at the surface.  In the film, it was made clear that these images of a man working to preserve his home and livelihood not only represent himself, but also what the region as a whole seems to be going through at the moment.  The story is one of change through technological progress, and this change includes that of cultural heritage.  Today we see the Northern Forest pushing to be a self-sustaining economy that works to preserve this cultural heritage, but at the same time barriers are being met in the form of new technologies co-existing with the old.  Perhaps it should have been easy for me to pick this theme out of the book, perhaps not; perhaps this means I should work on my “reading between the lines”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “RBWTL”

  1. pavel says:

    Although the film is indeed more visually engaging (naturally!), the text does very often beg of its reader a more participatory engagement of the characters, setting, and theme that sitting and watching a film just cannot. It may also be interesting to consider the film itself as a product of the Northern Forest: what role might it play in that context?

  2. banyas41 says:

    I think the fact that parts of this film were in Vermont and New Hampshire can really speak to the Northern Forest as a region. Personally I think of myself quite familiar with both places, but I was unable to tell the two states apart in the movie setting. This is because the Northern Forest has this commonality of remote wilderness, beautiful northern hardwoods and boreal softwoods tree species.

Leave a comment